About Us

In 2003 a group of CEO’s in SC, led by Harry Lightsey, President of BellSouth, the University Of SC School Of Engineering and the SC Department of Education were granted the opportunity by the FIRST Foundation to host a regional robotic competition in the spring of 2004. Thus, began the Palmetto Regional FIRST Robotic Competition in SC. The purpose of the regional is to give students the opportunity to develop teams to build robots that compete in games designed by the FIRST Foundation and put into practice skills and knowledge learned.

In order to plan for and implement each Palmetto Regional, two different committees working with one objective in mind were formed. The first, the fundraising arm, was the Palmetto Partners. The Palmetto Partners is a group of business and educational leaders from throughout SC. The primary goal of Palmetto Partners is to focus on inspirational education that gives students the opportunity to obtain skills and knowledge to prepare for an advanced-technology based careers in South Carolina. The improved workforce in this area will improve the economic outlook for South Carolina. Palmetto Partners for Science and technology is exclusively charitable and educationally scientific. A non-profit organization that is a 501(c)(3) that was formed in 2004 and operates exclusively to encourage and promote the educational and career pursuit of science and technology.

The second committee, often referred to as the “operational committee” is the Palmetto Regional Planning Committee (PRPC). The PRPC is comprised of representatives primarily from the local area that the Regional is being held in. For 2019, the Palmetto Regional Robotics Competition will return to Myrtle Beach, SC, for the seventh year. Late in 2018, the PRPC reconvened and began the planning for the 2019 Regional. Over the past four months the PRPC has been vigorously engaged in the planning for and preparation for each competing teams arrival. The 2019 Palmetto Regional will be hosting 64 teams from 9 states.  The PRPC would like to welcome each team to the 2019 Palmetto Regional Robotics Competition and hope that your visit to the Myrtle Beach “Grand Strand” area will be enjoyable.

 

Steering Committee

 

Members

Business Representing

Email Address

Ashley Gasperson

Digital Communications Coordinator, Horry County Schools

Agasperson@horrycountyschool.net

Brandi Incorvia

Educational Programs Santee Cooper

Brandy.Incorvia@santeecooper.com

Ben Hardee

Director, CATE, Horry County Schools

Bhardee@horrycountyschools.net

Camilla Hertwig

Treasurer Palmetto Partners

Camillahertwig@hotmail.com

Eileen Patonay

South Carolina Department of Commerce

Epatonay@sccommerce.com

Frank Lanford

Regional Director, FIRST Robotics

Flanford@bellsouth.net

Joe Boggs

Mechanical Engineer, MetGlas

Joe.boggs@metglas.com

Julie Zeigler

Graphic Teacher Retired

Jziggy343@gmail.com

Karen McIlrath

Home Health

Kmcilrath@sc.rr.com

Louis Rubbo

Assoc. Professor of Astronomy - CCU

Lrubbo@coastal.edu

Mark Kruea

Public Information Officer, City of Myrtle Beach

Info@cityofmyrtlebeach.com

Mark Peterson

Tick Tock Time

Tickntime@gmail.com

Mary Beth Roach

Horry County Schools

Mroach@horrycountyschools.net

Raymond Rollins

Self Employed

Todd Marshall

Santee Cooper

Todd.marshall@santeecooper.com

Warren Sellers

Horry County Schools - AAST Pre-engineering teacher

Wsellers@horrycountyschools.net